MSc study – a most challenging journey yet says international student

thank-you-noteIn a letter to his MSc Dissertation Supervisor, Tuan Anh Dao from Vietnam, a Brunel Business School student who this week submitted his MSc dissertation, expresses gratitude and shares his experience of studying at postgraduate level in Brunel University. With his permission we publish this heart-warming letter for you to enjoy too.

Dear Dr. Collis

Now that I have finally submitted my dissertation, I’m writing this to express my gratitude to you, the best supervisor I have had the fortune to work with.

The journey I have been through over the last 12 months has been my most challenging yet. It was my very first year away from home, immersing myself in an entirely new culture, with entirely unfamiliar learning styles, as well as new study and research methods. My limited English has also been another huge obstacle to my learning and the progress of my dissertation.

Yet, with your incredible support, I have seen myself step by step reaching towards the finishing line. It was such an amazing feeling and sense of achievement when I finally handed in my work. This time twelve months ago I would never have believed I could one day do and finish this assignment. What I’m trying to express is how important your support has been to me and my education. Regardless of the final result, you have helped make my research experience such a steep learning curve, and I’m ever so grateful I have done this, more importantly I have done this with you.

So, wholeheartedly, thank you!

Yours sincerely,

Tuan Anh Dao

Leave a Reply

