Sarah from BBS on a mission to raise funds in support of injured servicemen and women

SarahSarah Exelby, from the Academic Programmes Office in Brunel Business School, will cycle 230km over 4 days in the London to Bruges Ladies Bike Ride at the end of August, raising money for a charity called STUBS.

“I decided to bike in support of STUBS, which helps UK’s most seriously injured servicemen and women during their stay at the Defence Medical Rehabilitation Centre in Headley Court. It also helps them to get back into social situations, as in most cases it will be their first time being out in public since they were injured. When I read up about what they do, I felt really inspired and it made me want to volunteer or take part in something to help support them in some way.

A couple of months back I took part in a 30 mile bike ride, I never really trained much outside of the gym, and realised how different riding out on the road is. I found it a lot more difficult than I first imagined, so choosing to do London to Bruges is a massive challenge for me!”

Sarah has been getting as much practice as possible on her bike and for the next few weeks will be preparing for this gruelling feat. To help Sarah raise funds for this cause please visit: http://www.justgiving.com/Sarah-Exelby

Leave a Reply

