MBA Students share their experience of the Brunel MBA

I am very passionate about medical healthcare management. My four years study, work experience and relevant volunteer experience have strongly confirmed healthcare management as the career choice for me. I am looking forward to a career focused on my passion for the environment and opportunities to work with people in need of medical services after completing the Brunel MBA (Healthcare Management). It is the perfect course for my future career. Min Hee An, MBA 2011/12, Republic of Korea

I was working as Vice General Manager of a small business consulting company in Shanghai, China. We specialize in providing Italian Textile machineries for Chinese customers. Determined to become a management leader on a higher level, I made up my mind to take up the MBA program in England. Brunel Business School has a very good reputation, its ranking is raised every year, and it’s in London with convenient location. In this sense, Brunel was my ideal place for further academic endeavor because of its high reputation of business education and perfect teaching system. I came across peers from every country in the world every single day in the classroom and on campus, which is quite exciting. Hongyan Zhao, MBA 2011/12, China

I chose Brunel Business School because of its good ranking and reputation and the AMBA accreditation of the course, plus the closeness to central London. Every moment here at Brunel is a great memory. Group work and laughing with colleagues, making friends from different countries, these are the things that I really cherish. The learning experience is very important as well. Plus this MBA will open up great opportunities for me to work in different countries or different industries. Our MBA lecturers are very approachable, and we are actually asked to challenge them and discuss what we are being taught. We learn more from the class discussions and each other than from a traditional lecture style. The care we are given individually as part of the career and development plan is the most surprising part for me. We can have a one-to-one session with a very experienced professional who is entirely dedicated to the MBA students. This made me learn more about myself, and made me think of some of my skills differently, and focus on improving my weaknesses. Very good course, very good staff, and great facilities. Mohamed Abdelkhalek Mahmoud, MBA 2011/12, Egypt

Funmi Obileye with two of her MBA classmates are proud Brunel MBA Ambassadors
Funmi Obileye with two of her MBA classmates are proud Brunel MBA Ambassadors

The Brunel MBA lectures are often in class discussions about current business issues which engage all the students to open up about their opinions and ideas which makes learning more challenging but useful in today’s business environment. Sometimes it feels as though we are in a board meeting! The Brunel MBA programme is making a significant contribution to helping me develop my career internationally through the people I met on the course and understanding their cultural differences. Employers are always looking for candidates with an international mind-set and having this international exposure on my CV has given me that step I ahead I need. Taking part in the Business Tour to India gave me an amazing international experience of one of today fastest growing economies. We visited companies of the likes of Merrill Lynch and Cadbury’s and learnt about what has contributed to India’s economy and what is going to push the Indian economy forward in the years to come. We also had the chance to meet with the MBA Alumni in India which was great they shared their insights of life after the Brunel MBA and how much of what they learned proved to be fundamental in business! Funmi Obileye, MBA 2011/12, United Kingdom

My greatest achievement so far was the transformation of my way of thinking from technical perspective, coming from IT working background, towards business/management thinking. It is challenging for me because switching from something that you are used to, to something that you are not familiar with, is not easy. The lecturers are very good and experts in their area, very approachable. I especially like lecturers that are practitioners in the current business world because I can relate to their experience and pick their brain and knowledge on UK and European markets. I also like that the Brunel MBA modules are relevant to current business needs. I had a great experience meeting student from various cultural backgrounds. I’m definitely proud to be part of the Brunel MBA network. The alumni are very friendly and down to earth. Being part of Brunel MBA Alumni is a good way to stay connected with the school and other students once my MBA is over. After all, in the business world networking is key. Mohd Faishah Sharil, MBA 2011/12, Malaysia

I have a Master of Engineering from Japan and I worked for Hitachi for 8 years as an Engineering Manager. I really enjoy the variety of modules on the MBA programme and the fact that I was able to meet many other professionals and business people. I simply like the MBA life! Nobuyuki Shinohara, MBA 2011/12, Japan

Great campus, MBA department has excellent facilities. I have never heard of any other university offering free printing services and free text books to MBA students. That is a deal breaker I suppose 🙂 Teachers are very good and hence our learning experience is great. I will cherish studying at one of the premiere institutes in UK. My classmates at Brunel are an excellent group. Very rarely will you see 30 managers from different parts of the world agreeing to a decision without questioning it. Less of ego and more rational thinking! Sayantan Das, MBA 2011/12, India

If you too would like to share your views on the Brunel MBA programme or other programmes at the Business School feel free to send us your reviews by email to: joanna.oman@brunel.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

